Meet The Beatles

Posted: January 21, 2014 in Foolishness

meetthebeatles

Right now I’m listening to the Beatles first U.S. album Meet the Beatles – on vinyl.  Just got it from my favorite local used records store. Sounds pretty good.  Not Sgt Peppers or White Album quality work, but still good.  Sure blew my mind when the British invaded the States in 1963-64.  Suddenly, there was a whole new music scene.  Mop hair groups playing this really different rock and roll; sounding a lot like Chuck Berry and Little Richard from the 50’s. [Mainly because they were covering all their old songs].

Back then, you were either in one of two camps.  You were either a Beatles fan, or a Rolling Stones fan.  I always liked the Stones best, even though I rushed out an bought Meet The Beatles when it came out.  The Stones played more blusy type of stuff, which sounded like nothing I’d hear before.  How was I to know that all they were doing is covering older R&B stuff which didn’t get much airplay except on ‘black stations’?  I was too much into surf music and the Beach Boys.

Anyway, I bought this album when it first came out in early 1964.  Wow, it blew me away, and I played it to death.  But by the time Jimi Hendix’s first album: “Are You Experienced?” came out, Meet The Beatles was sounding pretty lame, and I ended up getting rid of it to make room for Cream, Credence and the Jefferson Airplane.  50 years latter, in January 2014, I’m buying the same record, and this time playing it on a good stereo system, and it’s blowing me away on how good it sounds.  Funny when that happens.

Comments
  1. richardmax22 says:

    I was a Beatles guy from the beginning, right up until they got into the Strawberry Fields Forever era. I guess I needed some good drugs to appreciate it. I remember when I first saw the Stones. My first thought was, “What? Was being butt-ugly a requirement to get in this band?”

  2. Sounds so familiar. I know what you mean;)

  3. T E Stazyk says:

    Know what you mean. I don’t know if it’s because we can now hear how innovative what they were doing was or just by comparison to today’s mass produced product it is actually art.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Good music is timeless! … meanwhile, back in the day, I preferred The Beatles over the Stones.

  5. Like you, I preferred The Stones when I was a kid and only really appreciated The Beatles in the 1970s. Love them now though.

  6. Sgt Pepper, Magical Mystery Tour and White album.

Leave a Reply

