Doing Crazy Stuff

Posted: January 4, 2014 in Foolishness
Tags: ,

Right now I’m listening to Led Zeppelin I.  Pretty crazy.  Not really , but a pretty good album from 1969.  What is crazy is:  I’m listening to it on vinyl (a record), and on CD at the same time. Well not exactly the same time, but I’ve got them queued up together, and am switching between inputs on my tuner-amp, checking to see if there really is a difference between analogue (records) and digital (CD) recordings.

Everybody threw out their old records when CDs came out.  Who wanted to listen to a bunch of scratchy records when ya could have a much cleaner sound with CDs.  I did, like a true idiot, but am now busily collecting all the vinyl I had during the 60’s and 70’s.  I got a very nice, clean copy of Led Zeppelin I.  Sweet.  And you know what?  There is a difference in sound quality.  Analogue is less harsh, warmer and has more ‘depth’ than a digital recording.  Sounds great.  Especially if ya still have a turn-table to play it on.

If you have any old vinyl laying around, don’t throw em out.  Listen to them.  I’m gonna put on the Beatles Rubber Soul.  See ya later.

say no 001

Comments
  1. richardmax22 says:

    I know. I did the same thing with my Beatles albums. I loved them right up to their Strawberry Fields Forever era. After that they got too deep for my undrugged mind.

  2. lobotero says:

    Rubber Soul was the first album I bought up til then I was into the smaller 45s….

  3. T E Stazyk says:

    I agree! But with Led Zeppelin, sometimes you just gotta have a visual as well:

  4. “Like a true idiot …” haha. You’re my favourite idiot.

  5. Still have my vinyl. Some of it from the age of the dinosaurs! Husb bought a 1970s teak radiogram in a charity shop to play them on and it gives a terrific sound

Leave a Reply

