Living The American Dream

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Foolishness
Tags: ,

A long time ago I wrote this rock song about making it, here in the Land of Prosperity, and the wild chase after the elusive “American Dream”.  Musically, it was a little like The Talking Head’s   “Life During Wartime”.

Another day, another dollar

Got to make as much money as I can

To buy a car, to buy a refrigerator

To buy a machine to open my cans.

I Get up early, and work all night

I’m doin’  it with all my might.

To please the boss, to please my honey,

Even so you can please my wife.

Things are good, but they’re not what they seem.

I’m trying to be all that I can be.

I got a great big house, a German car;

I’m living the American dream.

I drive through traffic and risk my life,

There goes another nut behind the wheel,

Get to the office, drink my coffee,

Start to work on my next deal.

I rush through lunch, I’m not hungry.

I gotta show the Board my new plan.

I’m working hard, I’ll have plenty

I’m a 21 st century man.

Things are good, but they’re not what they seem.

I’m trying to be all that I can be.

I got a great big house, a German car.

You know I’m living the American dream.

I play the market, I’m a share holder.

I got a five figure IRA plan.

I’m buying a boat, taking a trip to Europe,

The kids’ll go to the best college they can.

I’m still a hippie, I’m still a liberal

But times call for a conservative stance.

I know there’s poor, I know there’s homeless,

But all they need is a second chance.

Yes I’m living the American Dream

Yes I’m living the American Dream.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

