Gig-a-lene

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Flat-0ut Bullshit

Well, I know a little girl name of Gig-a-lene

Woe Gigalene stop laughin’; Hee hee ho ho ha ha

She’s the laughinest child that you’d ever seen

Woe Gigalene, stop laughin’ so, Ho ho oooooooh

Poor thing giggles both day and night

Woe Gigalene stop laughing, he heeeeee

She got the nerve to giggle when things ain’t right

Woe Gigalene stop laughing so

I’m gonna walk Gigalene, walk walk Gigalene

Stop your laughing so!

Well, I met her on Sunday in her Sunday clothes

Woe Gigalene stop laughing

When she walked out my poor dick froze**

Woe Gigalene stop laughin’

I said walk Gigalene. Walk walk Gigalene

Walk Gigalene, stop your laughin’ so.

** OK, you listen to this obscure classic by The Sharps (with Duane Eddy on guitar) and tell me what that line is.  Hard to believe it got by the censors way back in the 50’s.


Comments
  1. hansi says:

    That one sure back-fired on ya. Not a single comment 🙂

  2. hansi says:

    No….And who cares? It’s not “poor dick froze”. That would never fly in the 50’s. Nobody was listening to lyrics back then anyway because they were idiotically stupid; just like Gigalene. The only cool part was Duane Eddy’s guitar work. You’ve got a dirty mind, and were grasping at straws with that obscure tune, just so you could be a potty mouth.

  3. hansi says:

    That’s fine with me. Go peddle your smut to someone else..if you have other readers…he he ho ho ha ha.

  4. BI,
    Don’t let that Hansi guy get to you. He’s a little off!

  5. A friend of mine, Carl Forbes, said he was looking for a record called, “Gig-A-Lene”, but he could not remember the group’s name. I later found the record and I also found out it was the Sharps, later known as the Rivingtons. The Sharps are the fellows making all of the whoops and hollers on Duane Eddy’s instrumental hits while he was with Jamie Records.

    In any case, Carl told me that the Sharps served time due to the obscene nature of “Gig-A-Lene” and this may have been possible, but if this is true, it might have been due to a live performance of this song. Johnny Otis said that he did a show with Chuck Berry and Otis was warned to “be nice” by the club owner and Otis said, with some surprise, that he was always nice. Otis’ portion of the show went OK, but during Chuck Berry’s set Berry sang this lyric:

    “We did it in the kitchen,
    We did it in the hall,
    I got some on my finger,
    And I wiped it on the wall.”

    Otis said, “…then the whole gig fell apart!”. If you don’t believe me, the alternate lyrics to “Reelin’ and Rockin'” are preserved in the movie, “American Hot Wax”.

    So, it is indeed plausible that the Sharps could have sung a racy version of this song.

    The RECORDED version of this, to the best of my knowledge, is not obscene, but as best as I can make out, it makes little sense:

    “Well, I met her one Sunday, in her Sunday clothes…,
    When her shoe wore out, my poor big toe.”

    Does this mean when HER shoes wore out, she stepped on HIS toe? Perhaps he is quoting her, which would render the line this way:

    “Well, I met her one Sunday, in her Sunday clothes…,
    When her shoe wore out, (she says) ‘My poor big toe!’ (maniacal laughter)”

    This makes a bit more sense to me. This is a woman that is laughing so maniacally and consistently, she notices her worn shoe and instead of screaming in pain, she laughs.

    On a similar theme, there is an old song from the 1920’s by the Happiness Boys, Billy Jones and Ernie Hare called, “Giggling Gertie”, which was about a silly woman who laughed all the time, even at a funeral! You can hear that song as a part of this person’s blog, http://holyvictrola.blogspot.com/2010/03/march-24-2010.html , so

    It is, pronounced, quite clearly, “poor big toe”, to my ears. So clearly, in fact, that I suspect that maybe they were trying to avoid this very controversy. Case in point, “Sock it To Me, Baby”, exists in two versions, the original version (so I am told) sounds as if he is saying, “…hits me like a f***”. This upset radio stations enough that the line was re-recorded. When you hear it on oldies stations, the second time he sings the line, he says, “….hits me like a PUNCH!”, making doubly certain that you hear that word is “punch” and not the boildownofaVanHalenalbumtitle, to use an anachronistic euphemism.

    I hope this sheds some light on the subject. For those of you who like to hear music in which they REALLY cannot most of the lyrics, I humbly submit,

    Shombalor by the Sheriff and the Revels (quite a good song), or
    Bila by the Versatones.

    Both can be found on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

